Fresh Face on The Cover of Thai Magazine

danny1.jpg

If he looks familiar, that’s because I wrote about Danny at Laovoices.com on a post called Sexy Young Asian Model, and still holds true and now Danny Bunyavong is on the cover of VOLUME, a Thai English magazine with sexy Thai model, โอเด็ต (Odit) เฮนเรียต แจ๊คโคมิน. Source.

Below are photos of Danny, which was taken by a photographer in Thailand, August 2007.

new-image.jpg

new-image1.jpg

Continue reading

The Simplicity of Laotian Life Style

As long as I could remember, the Mekong River has always been the life vein of Laos, it sustains our livelihoods in which Lao people use this river as drinking water, as bath water, as a source of our food as we often said, “In the water there is fish, and in the rice paddy there is rice,” and the river is used as everything else that we can possibly need water for.

Washing by the river, photo by Patricia M Cali

Washing by the river, photo by Patricia M Cali

As a typical Laotian, no matter what your professions are, I believed that there is a fisherman in all of us. I recalled when I was little, my dad would work by day and a fisherman by night, and he taught my sisters and I how to fish as well. Seeing the photos from Flickr of Lao fishermen brought back my childhood memories, as time passed, certain things are still the same, the techniques and local fishing styles have not changed over the years, still the same as what I remembered and what my dad used over 30 years ago. The photos below are the Laotian way of life, to us it is the laid back life style, a country known to us as the Land of a Million Elephants, but to the tourist it’s known as Asia’s sleeping beauty, to photographers it’s the beauty that nature has to offer.

Vang Vieng Laos, photo by Flyheli

Vang Vieng Laos, photo by Flyheli

Laos fisherman throwing out his net, photo by Dibopics

Laos fisherman throwing out his net, photo by Dibopics

The fisherman Laos, photo by Mandalaybus

The fisherman Laos, photo by Mandalaybus

The Mekong River is not the only source of food for the locals, I remembered my mom told me that many different types of food can also be found in nature, whether it’s mushrooms, bamboo shoots, ant eggs, and various type of eatable flowers that grown in the wild, such as Dork Kaeh, Dork Ka Jewl, and leaves such as Pak Varn (sweet vegetable), or Pak Ka Dao (bitter taste), and the best part about them are that these are free from any type of pesticide, and really FREE because they are grown in the forest.