I Have Pain or This Thing Is A Pain To Use

Who said that you can’t teach an old dog new tricks, not always true, in this case, an ergonomic keyboard I believed that a true appreciation for this type of keyboard comes with age. Once someone complains of wrists pain in any office, the corrective action would be to change from a traditional keyboard to an ergonomic keyboard. I think for someone that handles workers compensation, one of the most fearful terms to hear is carpal tunnel syndrome or someone complaining of wrist pain, which is tendinitis. Tendinitis is tendon inflammation resulting from repetitive work, such as uninterrupted typing and can cause carpal tunnel symptoms. I’m not a big fan of this fancy keyboard, and this takes up too much space in my opinion and the keys are out of place. I had to use it several times in the past because my boss has one, and another older lady in the office also has one and I hated it, so I refused to try it out for a day as suggested.

One of my co-workers had to try one out today to see if she would like it. I helped switch the old one out for her, to log back into her computer, she had to type Ctrl, Alt and Delete keys at the same time, and guess what, she couldn’t find the Delete key. It was almost comical watching her looking for it, and it’s obviously right at the same spot as the traditional keyboard, her old one. Also, she was complaining of not being able to find the F key, and the layout was very confusing to her. In less than an hour, I had to switch the old one back for her, by then she was frustrated. I explained to her that it’s called an ergonomic keyboard, and she said, “I think it should be called an ignorant keyboard.”

It was my turn next, but to save myself from misery, I told my boss that I didn’t care for it. I don’t think I would be able to work or blog with this thing and besides my keyboard sits on a keyboard tray both at home and at work, and an ergonomic keyboard is too big and it’s more suitable for those that sit their keyboard on the desk or table, so the next person to try is an older lady, maybe she will like it.

ergonomic-keyboard.jpg

According to wikipedia, an ergonomic keyboard is a computer keyboard designed with ergonomic considerations to minimize muscle strain and a host of related problems. Interesting I thought, and I’ve noticed that an ergonomic keyboard like the traditional keyboards before it, splits the keyboard in half at a 12 degree angle to straighten your wrists with the alignment of the keys instead of bending your wrists at an awkward angle, my boss said that the curving keys is designed to better meet the placement of your fingers, and not cramming them together like traditional keyboards do. As for the cost, a simple ergonomic keyboard can cost as little as typical keyboards, or up to 2-30 times more. Most true split keyboards cost ten to twenty times as much as typical computer keyboards.

I noticed that those that like ergonomic keyboards are also over 50 years of age, at my workplace anyway, and we’ve decided to call it old people’s keyboard. I like the traditional keyboard and do use it a lot to type, and I don’t think I will be trading it for an ergonomic keyboard anytime soon. I can hear people telling me, “You just wait till you get older, you’ll be running out to get that thing.” My point exactly, appreciation comes with age.