My Hometown History

This is my contribution to Scott’s Hometown History assignment. My  hometown was Muang Kao Laos, a place that I knew very little of and vaguely remember since I left there when I was only 6. Since then I have lived in many places and my current adopted hometown is Hickory, North Carolina. When I was little growing up in Brooklyn, New York, the word uptown or downtown means the city to me or Manhattan, and in a small town such as Hickory the word downtown is the heart of the city.  This is downtown Hickory, a park-like atmosphere of the Union Square.

Photo taken on Monday evening. Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/200sec, ISO 200, focal length 40mm, cropped, evaluative metering

The city used to be called the Hickory Tavern and was established in 1863.  The name was eventually changed to Hickory in 1873. My co-worker said that it didn’t use to look like this when she was growing up. The Union Square was restored from 1974-77.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/6.3, 1/1250sec, ISO 200, focal length 17mm, evaluative metering

Hickory has been named an “All-America City” three times. The All-America City Award is given annually to only ten cities in the United States. It is a very prestigious award that represents a community’s ability to work together and achieve critical local issues. Hickory won this award in 2007, as well as 1967 and 1987. I like downtown Hickory, it has many historical houses that is rich with history and small town charm.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/250sec, ISO 200, focal length 32mm, evaluative metering

Across the street from the Union Square is the old Hickory Station.  We used to have a passenger train ran through town years ago.  The train depot was later converted to a restaurant and now out of business. The parking lot is being used as the Farmer’s Market on Wednesday afternoon and Saturday morning.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/11, 1/200sec, ISO 200, focal length 20mm, evaluative metering

I had a hard time locating an old picture of  Hickory, then I remember the note cards that my ex-boss gave me as a gift before he left. This was what the Hickory Station looked like back in the days.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/250sec, ISO 1600, focal length 34mm, evaluative metering