Water: The Two Colors River

When I read about a photo assignment at Scott Thomas Photography of the topic Water, I immediately thought of the two colors river in Laos.  Scott said that “Water is unique in that it can be a solid, a liquid and a gas. Water moves, stands still, creates and destroys,”  this is so true.  As for our water, it is the two colors river where Nam Xan and Mekong River meet.  The Mekong River is the muddy color water, the Lao locals call her Mae Nam Kong, loosely translated as Mother Water Kong because she is like an artery that runs thought our country.  The Mekong River is one of the world’s major rivers. It is the world’s 10th-longest river and the 7th-longest in Asia, from the Tibetan Plateau this river runs through China’s Yunnan province, Burma, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam. She has traveled a great distance to get to our landlocked country Laos and continues on her journey to our neighboring countries.

31 thoughts on “Water: The Two Colors River

  1. This is what I love about the internet. If not for your comment on Scott Thomas’s blog I would never have learned about the Two Color River! Now I have to find out more, and to come back to visit Laos through your eyes.

    • Hi Gerry, thanks for your visit and comment, I love being able to share photos on the Internet. I didn’t know that it existed until the morning that my cousin took me, it’s a beautiful thing to see in person. I need to check out what others are posting.

    • Scott, thanks for your visit and comment, I’ve been a fan of your blog for a while now, just never comment, the water assignment was fun, thank you.

    • Hi Preston, thanks for your visit and comment. I went after the rain season, so the Mekong River was kind of muddy looking and has a strong current in comparison to Nam Xan, which is a smaller body of water, more still and clearer looking. We’ve several locations in Laos that have the two colors river.

  2. Hi errenoon, thanks for your visit and comments. This is Mae Nam Song Si where Nam Xan and Mae Nam Khong meet, it’s from the Laos side and I took this picture in Paksan Laos.

    • Nye, have you heard that lao song about nam 2 see?? the song talks about his hometown “paksan”. i’m not sure if you know what i’m talking about, i have the mp3 file of the song. let me know if you like to hear it.

      • Hi seeharhed, I think I heard my little cousin singing when I was in Laos, if you’ve the song, can you email me then, I’d love to hear the original version. Thanks.

      • LOL!
        Not weird at all!! I’ve been browsing around here a bit this evening, and I find your blog completely fascinating! I love learning about other cultures and seeing the world through others eyes.
        And have you looked at my blog at all??? You’re worried I’d fine YOURS weird?! *tee*hee* Weird is my middle name. ;)

  3. This is really interesting Nye. I have never seen anything like it.
    These assignments makes it possible to travel a little around the world, if you know what I mean.
    I’m glad I found your blog.
    Carsten

  4. Pingback: Assignment 3 Recap « Views Infinitum

  5. “He has set free the two seas meeting together. There is a barrier between them. They do not transgress. ” (Quran, 55:19-20)

    • Abbas, thanks for your visit and comment, the verse from your religious text is very inspiring, it’s much a mystery indeed. This is a post born from your comment.

  6. Pingback: Meeting of the Waters: Rio Negro and the Rio Solimoes « Nye Noona

    • Hi Abbas, the things that I don’t dispute with people are their religion and beliefs, and thanks for the insight. As a Buddhist myself, any religion that makes you a good person, I’m happy to hear about it.

  7. Nye, you know something? u was born Muslim and then became Buddhist.
    you will die as every one shall n then your forever life starts. My religion demands me to tell which is truth to other that is why am telling you all this.
    sorry for bothering you Nye but your are a good person. If a person is good that does not mean that he or she will go to heaven but who admit the truth the the creator of this universe is ALLAH (the only almighty) and MUHAMMAD(s.a.w.w) Peace be upon him are his last messenger will go to heaven. Please visit this http://www.twf.org/Truth.html if u have some time.
    take care man
    may ALLAH show you a right path (Ameen)

    • Thanks for the additional information Ghulam Abbas, you did your job well, I believe in freedom of religion and freedom of speech.

  8. Well its a part of life. You have to search for the truth. You may have heaven in just one sentence. If you want it tell me then i’ll tell you the sentence. If you believe on it you will go to heaven. Guaranteed. That is what i can give to you as a humanity relation between us.
    Have a nice time
    take care
    A.H

    • Ghulam Abbas, I don’t like something handed to me, and no one like to be told the absolute truth because it’s different for everyone, your truth might not be the same as my truth. As for searching for the truth, that’s different for everyone as well because our beliefs are different, our way of life are different, but at the end, we all die the same. For the sake of humanity, I rather you not impose your beliefs on others, including myself, thanks and take care.

Comments are closed.